The best of times…the worst of times…

Life feels very tenuous at present. I am having to do lots of out of the box thinking and will probably have to follow up with some out of the box living, which, currently, is not where I want to be. I feel uncomfortable and teary and just want to crawl back in the box (any box!) and hibernate. I am not being allowed to do this because I am having to make decisions, endless painful difficult decisions that my brain feels incapable of computing or making. I hate being in this place and want to leave it behind with great haste.

On the plus front is the fact that I have the most perfect distraction. The Baileys Prize long list of books has been announced. (This was the Orange Prize and is for female novelists). 20 books populate the list and I have only read 4 of them  so 16 to read, if I can, before the winner is announced on 3 June. (Can’t believe I will have read them by the time of the short list on 13 April!)

…and another positive note…Craig in the strawberry van (from Ocado) will be pitching up this afternoon…then the fridge will be filled and I can at least breathe again…

4 thoughts on “The best of times…the worst of times…

  1. I love the authors who win the Orange Prize

    My favourite past winners – The Lizard Cage by Karen Connolly. Here is an extract of a review:-

    Every now and then, I read a book that I just want to grab the next person I see and say, “You MUST read this.” The Lizard Cage is one of those books. It is lyrical, poignant, astonishing, at times shocking, and ultimately, unforgettable. It is that rare book with a solid humanitarian plea at its center that never, ever slips into pedanticism or manipulation.

    Wendy, I loved it and although I read it about 5 years ago it has never left me.

    The other one that I love and reread (often) as it is so beautifully constructed, so funny and yet so moving is:-

    The Idea of Perfection – herewith one review:-

    Harley Savage is a plain woman, a part-time museum curator and quilting expert with three failed marriages and a heart condition. Douglas Cheeseman is a shy, gawky engineer with jug-handle ears, one marriage gone sour, and a crippling lack of physical courage. They meet in the little Australian town of Karakarook, where Harley has arrived to help the town build a heritage museum and Douglas to demolish the quaint old Bent Bridge. From the beginning they are on a collision course until the unexpected sets them both free.
    Elegantly and compassionately told, The Idea of Perfection is reminiscent of the work of Carol Shields and Annie Proulx and reveals Kate Grenville as “a writer of extraordinary talent

    If you can manage to find either of these two books you will have a treat to look forward to, and enable you to enter your hibernation box with glee (and a hot cup of tea).

    Regards,
    Bev Jacobson
    Library Co-ordinator

    [Campion Education]
    Campion Education (Aust) Pty Ltd
    7 Oxleigh Drive, Malaga WA 6090

    t 08 6240 2712
    f 08 6240 2799
    m 0434 954 554
    e bjacobson@campion.com.au
    w http://www.campion.com.au / http://www.elandmark.com.au / http://www.mcgills.com.au / http://www.edsoft.com.au

    abn 33 074 318 602

    Like

  2. Man, I love that last Reply … am off to the Kindle Shop to search out them both and press ‘buy’. LIFE sounds bit nervy and scary – wanna meet up Mon or Tues?? email me xx

    Like

Leave a comment