Shapeshifter

Medical staff seem surprised to find me in as positive mood as I am. It may seem bizarre to onlookers, but, to come round from surgery to a body shape far better than the one I left behind is surely something to celebrate. Granted, half that “shape” is a small breast-shaped stuffed cushion but it still looks better to me than either the diseased or un-diseased breast that has gone. The relief of no longer being big-breasted so outweighs all the downsides of this surgery.

My drainage bag was removed yesterday so I now feel less like Marley’s ghost, dragging my chains behind me…or, more in character, getting them looped onto any door handle or hook going! I was strapped up with dressings by the district nurses and left to “rest”.

I suppose it was destined that everything was not going to run as smoothly as it had been, and within an hour or so I realised that my trousers and top were wet and bloody – I was “leaking”. Unsure what to do, I dripped around the house and pale coloured carpets for a while before wrapping myself in a beach towel…as you do…and called the district nurses. They were lovely and re-padded me up after checking that I had stopped dripping. They did suggest that maybe I was trying to do too much instead of “just resting” …. Me?

 

5 thoughts on “Shapeshifter

    1. at last caught up after my internet catastrophe but simon kept me informed.delighted to read your latests .now just lie back let a.n.other fill your fridges.think about buying your “itsy bitsy yellow polkadot bikini.but please do rest as much as YOU can.Alicexx

      Like

Leave a Reply

