In sickness and in health

It appears that my experience is not uncommon…I have been reading studies that show that 35% of men leave their wives/partners when they get cancer. (35% is huge – why had I never heard of this?) For the most part these men leave for “ill judged” affairs. The same studies show that only 2% of women leave their husbands/partners in the same circumstances.

I am told that other countries in the world give women leaflets at diagnosis detailing this male cowardice along with the statistics….Not sure if forewarned is helpful…not sure I would ever have believed it…not sure what to make of it. Guess we all think our relationships are were different  and special.

Who knew?

 

3 thoughts on “In sickness and in health

  1. sad, but true. I think its just that men cant cope like women can. How many of the men come back saying it was the biggest mistake of their lives?

    Like

  2. Wendy, I have thought long and hard about your situation – and yes, I have heard it happening before. I think men marry in order to have someone to look after them (physically, mentally, spiritually) and if one of those things is deprived them, then they do not cope. (What, me look after myself and my sick wife? What do you think I am???) Chances are, when you are strong enough (physically, mentally, spiritually) to throw his things onto the kerb and start to enjoy life again – he will come crawling back.

    Maybe Amazons had the right idea…..

    Regards,
    Bev Jacobson
    Library Co-ordinator

    [Campion Education]
    Campion Education (Aust) Pty Ltd
    7 Oxleigh Drive, Malaga WA 6090

    t 08 6240 2712
    f 08 6240 2799
    m 0434 954 554
    e bjacobson@campion.com.au
    w http://www.campion.com.au / http://www.elandmark.com.au / http://www.mcgills.com.au / http://www.edsoft.com.au

    abn 33 074 318 602

    Like

Leave a Reply

