Trust – years to earn, seconds to break

I like to be the person offering help, supporting friends and family and able to give as much as I am able. I am not shaping up too well as a person who is good at accepting help. Maybe it is some sort of breakthrough to be finally realising that I need the help that is being offered and that I shouldn’t keep turning it down. Maybe I need to accept the very genuine and amazingly generous offers of support I am getting from all sorts of people.

Having had my trust ceremoniously destroyed on the still flaming bonfire contrived by my husband and supposed “friend” this is a huge step for me. How do you know who to trust and who not to trust? Everyone looks the same as they ever did on the outside. Do you ever know or do I just have to, as vulnerable as I am, trust that those arms that keep reaching out to catch me, are “safe” arms as I continue to bounce, bewildered down the precipice?

“Whoever is careless with the truth in small matters cannot be trusted with important matters” ¬†Einstein

2 thoughts on “Trust – years to earn, seconds to break

  1. Trust those offers of help from real people with real values who really care. Don’t be put off by the abhorrent behaviour of the exceptions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

