Out of the shadows

As ever it is two steps forward, one step back but, after last week’s good scan results, I am starting to feel that I can…maybe…gain some momentum. My bruised coccyx is somewhat limiting the speed of this…However this is only a problem when getting up from seated or lying down, or trying to do sit-ups so maybe I just need to do less of all of that! My head “bump” also seems to be sorting itself out and scabbing over – fortunately now covered by a profusion of dark but curly hair…I am a very different person both on the outside and the inside.

And…no medical appointments this week. This is the first time I can remember this happening so that must be a good thing.

So a chance to sit back and think where my life (however long) goes from here. I am still pulling out the embedded thorns in my side (and in my heart) and still lose sleep as I turn over and over on them, but I am finally getting some sleep now.   Glory be to the right dose of the right anti-depressants!

It is a common enough premise that cancer changes you and for everyone it must be different. Last week I caught the end of an item on Woman’s Hour about a new book by Marian Keyes called “The Woman Who Stole My Life” – apparently it’s humorous…but, despite its title, which rings so many bells, it is not a parallel to my past year’s experience of what happened when I got cancer! I have not progressed so far as to see any humour in my situation at all but I have begun to find some smouldering resilience.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Out of the shadows

  1. glad to hear you so positive hon.It is a wonderful life out there, really. Today Rog asked what I would like for Xmas. Shall I tell him it is at least 10 more years – or 5 if that’s not being greedy.xx

    Like

  2. Dear Wendy, this us so good to hear! You are stronger than you think. Life may yet have lots of good things in store for you 😊
    Have you read ‘Before I go to sleep’, by SJ Watson ? Nothing to do with cancer , just a cracking good page turner.
    Gro xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

