The left hand doesn’t know what the right hand is doing

I have been spending time with my friend again this weekend. Her world becomes smaller and smaller…but not her spirit, tenacity or her humour. We snuggle down in her white bedroom which now resembles something more of an apothecary than a bedroom. New drugs arrive daily, some liquid, some more hard-core (in tablet form) which need to be crushed as mouth cancer is not compatible with tablet taking. These tools of the trade sit alongside the morphine syringe driver…creating an atmosphere of an alternative speakeasy! Despite all this somehow we still find stuff to laugh about..even though every goodbye is more tentative, the hug tighter, the kiss longer…

What’s the difference between Marks & Spencer Just Food and Waitrose

  • M&S salad bags are freshly washed and ready to serve
  • Waitrose salad bags are freshly washed and ready to dress

Meantime in my own medical bag of tricks, I seem to be developing a variety of symptoms on the right hand side of my body. Not really worried but I seem to be focusing in on them because my cancer is on the right hand side. I have developed almost constant pins and needles during the daytime in my arm and hand, which I expect is not even worth remarking upon but …here I am mentioning it. Then to complement this annoyance, I also have been afflicted with severe night time leg cramps on the same side. This is likely to be the sciatic pain I get from my back problem, spondylolisthesis..but why should it strike now? Why not? I guess….

One thought on “The left hand doesn’t know what the right hand is doing

  1. WIshing for joy of spirit and humour in the 0moments you have left with your friend. In the face of adversity, it is amazing how you can still find things to laugh about – if you try hard enough!

    Like

Leave a Reply

