Distant drums

It was just so perfect (given that funeral and perfect rarely sit happily in the same sentence) that my friend’s final rite of passage was to the haunting sound of 2 Indian drummers. Their beat slow and resonant, from a quiet start, louder and louder until we were all filled with the insistent vibration marking the “official” end to her life…

“…the rest is silence”

…and so, I attempt to move on. I hadn’t exactly anticipated quite how badly the funeral day might end. Whether it was the stress of the occasion, or something else entirely, suffice it to say I had another of my collapsing incidents. This time it was a head to head with the pavement which left me lying in a pool of blood wondering what on earth had happened. I thought it looked worse than it was and so just got myself home and went to bed…despite clothes covered in blood, towels covered in blood, drying clots in my hair and…and then bedclothes covered in blood. I still thought it was “fine” the next morning but was persuaded by some young (and far more sensible) people that I should get it looked at.

4 hours later…after ECG, brain scan, blood tests, lights in my eyes, poking about in my ears and “confusion” (my word, not theirs!) tests -which I nearly failed as I briefly couldn’t remember which month it was…Stitches..or a stitch was briefly mentioned as the doctor put some steri-strips on. He wanted to refer me to “plastics” for stitching as the wound was on my face and went off to arrange an appointment for me. I was very surprised on his return, to find that not only could I have the appointment now but that I was about to add a whole new departmentĀ to my list…Off to Max Fax!

I was seen straight away and then sewn up. One stitch be damned, it was a regular needlework session across my eyebrow, forehead and nose…done by a very lovely doctor in a really caring and professional way.

Still no clue what is causing these collapses so currently the best guess is…stress…Maybe I am just off the scale!

Back to the herceptin tomorrow…hopefully a quiet day today.

Wendy 20 June

3 thoughts on “Distant drums

Leave a Reply

