Thinking about Thanksgiving

It would be easy to sum it up as “thank you for the music”…but

I would have liked to experience the Thanksgiving “thang” rather than just the prelude..and wonder about the various phrases/cards/mementoes I saw on my travels, which maybe (of course) represent the type of places I homed in on, rather than the true American Thanksgiving ideal…

  • “What a friend we have in cheeses”
  • “Gobble til you wobble”
  • “Be thankful for all the troubles you don’t have”
  • “We must find time to stop and thank the people who make a difference in our lives”

It struck me that when I was at my lowest ebb, I took myself back to my roots and hoped to find “it” at The Wailing Wall in Jerusalem but didn’t. I was disappointed (although not surprised) to feel absolutely nothing. It may be representative of my shallow nature, but I do feel I found “it” in the huge, crazy, eclectic, diaspora, wildlife rich, redneck, whiteneck, gun-toting, cowboy, guitar-toting, goo-goo, shopping mall, food court madness, with one helluva great soundtrack, that is the southern US.

I have much to be thankful for…I have seen the splendour of the knees of the trees, nesting bald eagles, drag queens and Elvis. I have all the things that really matter in life (bar my health, I guess)…and “I walk the line…”..and go off for more medical treatment…

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Thinking about Thanksgiving

  1. Wendy – where are you now? (physically, not mentally or spiritually)

    Bev Jacobson
    Library Co-ordinator

    Campion Education (Aust) Pty Ltd

    Like

  2. Wendy, I don’t know if you can stream American television there, but there is a procedural crime drama in its second season here called NCIS: New Orleans. It takes place in The Big Easy and captures the flavour, music, cuisine, nature, spirit and the accents of New Orleans—might help ease your withdrawal symptoms of such an amazing place…

    Like

Leave a Reply

