I’ve lost that fuzzy feeling

2016-08-08 17.04.25
1977

It’s one thing coming off herceptin, heart monitoring, scans, blood tests and facing cancer but quite another deal climbing down from a very high anti-depressant dose. Even my gentle downward stumble seems to be turning me into yet another person I haven’t been before.

I don’t have to do this but somehow thought I was ready to engage with some of the pain. I am ready. Guess I had just forgotten how much pain I had (that was secreting itself behind the SSRI influence) and what pain is like.

I have seen my GP and know I can take it at my own pace or, indeed, not do it all. For the time being, 6 weeks in, I have re-calibrated my gradient for reduction. Waking up and smelling the coffee isn’t quite what I had anticipated and I am so missing my quirky, irreverent, spirited, intelligent, argumentative, tenacious, fierce, talkative, difficult, magnetic and so talented…yet dead, friend. The endless silence she leaves in her wake is hitting me in waves, some days lapping…some days tidal.

But I’m OK..I need to experience this…and overwhelming all of this is the delight and roars of laughter I can only hear in my head (that we would have shared) if she had seen my fake nails, nail art, tattooed eyebrows and tiddly pom mules!

 

Save

One thought on “I’ve lost that fuzzy feeling

  1. I can only imagine what you’re feeling through all of this. But I can see that feeling it is part of the point of it. And enjoying the time you would (should) have had together is a good part of that. I do the same with my lost friend – she wasn’t one to wallow in life, and memory of her spirit reminds me that there is usually some fun to be had. (Not always of course).
    Sorry you can’t join us for the crochet, but the alternative sounds great! We’ll get together some other time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

