At Mornington Crescent I Sat Down and Wept…

The grief was bound to come and yet I had not imagined what a very embarrassing public show of grief it would be, over a year later. My route subconsciously took me to Mornington…where my friend lived, and died last year. The tears began slowly and I was set to walk by, but instead, found myself sitting on the dirty steps of what must now be someone else’s flat in NW1, howling. Not pretty…but not a pretty death…Cancer is not a great accessory however bedizened.

I am still hoping for a version with more baubles and bling.

…with apologies to Elizabeth Smart “By Grand Station Station I Sat Down and Wept” 1945

3 thoughts on “At Mornington Crescent I Sat Down and Wept…

  1. With everything going on for you, you’ve hardly had time to grieve. Crying is good. There are various locations that I can’t pass without feeling acute sadness. Hope you are out and about enjoying the Autumn sunshine x

    Like

Leave a Reply

